Dams

Open letter to Tata Sustainability Group to stop westward diversion of Bhima basin water by Tata Hydro projects

From: Parineeta Dandekar (Pune) & Himanshu Thakkar (Delhi)

South Asia Network on Dams, Rivers & People (SANDRP)

parineeta.dandekar@gmail.com, ht.sandrp@gmail.com

August 20, 2015

TO:

Tata Sustainability Group

Army & Navy Building, 2nd Floor

Mahatma Gandhi Road,

Mumbai 400001, tsg@tata.com

  1. Shankar Venkateswaran

Chief – Tata Sustainability Group: svenkateswaran@tata.com

  1. Dr. Avinash Patkar

Head – Environment Services: apatkar@tata.com

  1. Sudhakar Gudipati

General Manager – Community Services: sgudipati@tata.com

  1. Alka Upadhyay

General Manager – Environment Services: aupadhyay@tata.com

  1. Ajit Chaudhuri

General Manager – Community Services: achaudhuri@tata.com

  1. Sourav Roy

Program Leader – Tata Uttarakhand Program: aroy@tata.com

  1. Abhishek Goyal

Senior Manager – Environment Services: agoyal@tata.com

  1. Zarir DeVitre

Manager – Environment Services: zdevitre@tata.com

  1. Manjula Sriram

Manager – Community Services: msriram@tata.com

  1. Lucas Saldhana

Assistant Manager – Tata Sustainability Group: lsaldhana@tata.com

Dear members of Tata Sustainability Group,

We are encouraged to write to you on this subject, thinking that considering the name, objective of the TSG and also the various statements on the TSG website, you will take prompt and necessary action on this subject.

We are writing to you in the context of Bhima basin in Maharashtra and Krishna river basin in general facing the worst monsoon deficit, crop loss and water scarcity. Millions of farmers are facing crop loss, livelihood loss and worst. Ujani dam on Bhima River is below its live storage level now and in the downstream Telangana, Nagarjunsagar is at zero live storage level and Srisailam has just 9% water in its live storage. Telangana and Andhra Pradesh have said they have no water to save farmers’ crops; they are reserving the available water for drinking water. Continue reading “Open letter to Tata Sustainability Group to stop westward diversion of Bhima basin water by Tata Hydro projects”

Dams

Tata Power responds on the issue of Tata dams diverting water from Drought hit Bhima Krishna basin to Konkan, but it is a vacuous, insensitive response

On the 7th August 2015, SANDRP published a Press Release titled “As Krishna Bhima basin farmers in Maharashtra, Karnataka, AP & Telangana face drought, crop failure, Water scarcity, Maharashtra DIVERTED 350 MCM water from the basin & stored another 2535 MCM reserved to release, literally to sea!”[1]. On August 9, 2015[2], DNA, a leading newspaper in Mumbai published a report based on this story as their front page top story titled “Drought? Last month alone Maha govt drained 350 MCM water into sea!” Continue reading “Tata Power responds on the issue of Tata dams diverting water from Drought hit Bhima Krishna basin to Konkan, but it is a vacuous, insensitive response”